Obamania

(Att: Scroll down and see the funny video below if you do not have the patience to read this long story )

I was and still am a big fan of Barack Hussein Obama. To give you a sense, I had followed his election campaign right from his Democrat party nomination battle, rarely missing any of his public speeches. His speech called ‘A More Perfect Union’, I still remember,  gave me goosebumps. I may have seen his video “Obama: One Voice” on youtube around twenty times in one week in those days. I was reduced to tears listening to his victory speech at Grant Park, Chicago on November 4, 2009.  I was at the edge of my seat watching his swearing in ceremony on television.

After he became president, his commencement speech at the Arizona State University had one sentence that still strikes me  – I do not remember the exact words, but it was something like this: “I know that graduating in these tough economic times is a challenge, but it is also a privilege, because it is moments  like these that help us to try that much harder and dig that much deeper to realize the true greatness that lies in all of us.“. I find those words quite inspirational and still go back to see the video sometimes in search for inspiration.

I had no iota of doubt that he really, really wanted to solve the issues that the world faced.  For me, this was and still is, enough – that he is trying his best to do that.  He might not be able to do what he wants to do ,but that isn’t his fault – the political structure is such that one man on his own cannot do much.  It is a tribute to democracy, even if it is impeding progress here.

And I always thought the world was very unlucky and lost  a great chance for world peace  when  two right wing governments took shape in Iran and Israel -Ahmedinejad and Netanyahu about the same time as Obama took over. The world could easily have been a different one had saner people been ruling these two countries during Obama’s presidency.  So now we see Obama desperately trying to talk sense into those who rule Iran and Israel  – but his efforts have mostly had no value with them.  I wouldn’t be surprised if Obama is frustrated at the turn of events when obstinate leaders do not make sense and stick to their positions.

Edit: I had started writing this piece while reading that Obama has abandoned his efforts to convince Netanyahu to stop settlement building in the West Bank after months of trying through talks and inducements. He would have been obviously frustrated. This video that is going viral actually shows Obama physically showing his frustration. It’s fake yes, but was well worth a laugh.

As for the controversial deal Obama made with the GOP on tax cuts for the rich and everyone else, this is another joke about Obama making another concession to the Republicans which  made me snicker loudly in a full silence area in the library.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Obamania

  1. Pingback: The Desire for Acceptance | Beyond the Horizon

Peace! Please let me know what you think!

